Kool-aid is cool, man! Yeah, far out!

January 8, 2008 at 2:05 am | Posted in craft tools, ideas, projects | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

I bought a little twist of white silk yarn from my favorite handspinner at the farmer’s market.  She said that I could dye it with Kool-aid.  So I bought a bunch of kool-aid, and looked up the instructions online.

 But I can never do with just one little twist of yarn.  I want a whole flood of yarn!  So I also rooted through my stash and collected a bunch of different wool that I thought could do with a color change.  You have to use protein fiber for this sort of dyeing, the instructions said, so that’s why I was looking for wool in particular.  And silk is protein, too.

 So, I’ve been working on this project all evening, and my fingers are sort of purple.  Oh, I’ve been having so much fun!  I can’t wait to knit or crochet something with this stuff!

 Actually, I did already knit a little leaf-shaped swatch.  I have a plan to knit a hat with some of the other yarn, and then to sew the leaf onto it as decoration.

Here are the instructions I used.  Knitty.com is a great website, full of interesting patterns and such: http://knitty.com/ISSUEfall02/FEATdyedwool.html 

One “before” picture: silk yarn

And lots of “after” pictures:

yarn on drying rack

yarn

more yarn

knit leaf

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. so pretty!!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

