I feel special.

March 21, 2008 at 12:21 am | Posted in gifts | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Why do I feel special, you ask?  Because I got to participate in one of the coolest crochet swap events ever, over on Ravelry.  In the “uncommon crochet” group, a genius crocheting peer came up with the idea of making drawings of fantasy creatures, then exchanging these drawings and crocheting a creature based on the picture, then sending the finished object back to the person who’d made the original sketch.  I had fun with this for ever so many reasons–it was creative, it was quirky, it was international (I sent my monster to Australia, and got mine from the UK).  Every step of the process was enjoyable, too.  I like to doodle, I like to look at other people’s drawings, of course I like to crochet, and I like to give and receive gifts.

So, wouldn’t you like to see some pictures?

1. my drawing:

doodles for the crochet exchange

2.  the adorable friend that RunnyCustard made for me:

looking out the window

3.  LaughingPurple’s drawings that I got to play with:

drawings

4.  and finally, my crocheted creation for LaughingPurple:

dragonfly creature

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yay… there’s my dragonfly baby… I don’t have a name for him as yet… do you?

  2. hoorah, he looks like he likes his new home 🙂
    I am glad he made the flight in safety and in such short time.

    🙂

    (slight red theme going on with both these critters!)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

