an easy alternative to screen-printing

September 19, 2008 at 8:04 am | Posted in learning | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I’ve always thought that it would be cool to make my own screen-printed shirts and other fabric items, but the technique always looks really difficult, with specialized equipment involved.  And it sounds messy, too.  I’m a crafter who lives in a fairly small space, and it’s already difficult to keep all my current projects organized and out of the way.  So I was interested to see these instructions on how to make a screen-printed look without needing a screen or a squeegee or anything.  Really, it seems sort of obvious.  All you need is a stencil!  I’ve used a stencil before.  I guess you need other crafters to point out the obvious sometimes, and then you just apply your own creativity and funky ideas to the technique.

LINKY

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi.
    I came across your “arcticle” and you have helped me already. Basically im doing a big school project at the moment, which requirs me to make a screen print. The only problem i came across was that i cant buy any screens in the city i live in. The only way i can get hold of a screen is if i order it off internet, but i dont have the time for that.
    I read what you wrote, and i was wondering if you could help me.
    If you could please explain me how you made your stencil as an easy alternative.
    I hope its not too much trouble, and you would want to help me out.
    Thanks anyways .

  2. I haven’t actually tried this yet, although I did purchase some stuff to mix in with acrylic paint to make it more permanent on fabric. I would think that if you have a razorblade or an exacto-knife or something, you could cut a stencil out of any sturdy material. And then just use it like you’d use any stencil: hold it firmly in place, perhaps by taping it to the fabric, and dab the paint on sparingly. You don’t want to use strokes of paint with a stencil, because you’ll get under the edges, so instead you have just a tiny bit of paint on the brush at a time, and make vertical motions instead of horizontal ones. You also probably want to have something under your fabric to catch any bleedthrough, or something between the two layers of fabric if it’s a t-shirt or something.

    I hope that helps! There was a link in my post, too, about using this technique with photographs, but the link might be broken. I’ll check on that.

  3. […] paint, screen-printing, t-shirtd What did I try?  That alternative to screen printing that I posted about a while back.  S is out of town with the camera right now, though, so I can’t post pictures of my fun new […]

  4. I wonder if you can use spray paint with this technique


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

