useful information

December 30, 2008 at 12:48 am | Posted in learning | Comments Off on useful information
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have been playing with my drop spindle this evening. I hadn’t used it in a while, but I got some roving for christmas, which inspired me. First I spun a little clump of roving in a color I didn’t really like, for practice. It was sort of a tan/brown color that didn’t look good with any of the other colors of roving. But it was still fun to spin! Then I tied it into a little skein and dragged the crockpot out of the closet and now I’m dyeing it green! Then I started spinning some of the other roving. I combined a red clump with an orange clump and part of a dark green clump, and I’m starting to feel like I’m getting the hang of this spinning thing. The second collection of colors looks quite festive, and I can’t wait to see it all twisted up in a skein, and S said that she’d probably like to knit something with it. Yay!

So, anyway, I wanted to post this blog entry to share a useful link. With handspun yarn, the next step after spinning is to set the twist. This blog has a nice detailed set of instructions that helped refresh my memory on how and why to do that. Here’s the link: http://gamerknitterwritergeek.blogspot.com/2007/05/blocking-handspun-yarn.html

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

