Teddy Love

January 7, 2009 at 7:23 pm | Posted in books, learning | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

I got a book the other day at the used bookstore with all kinds of patterns to make teddy bears. I’m quite excited! I’ve always liked teddies (and stuffed animals in general). My first summer job was working in a little gift shop that specialized in collectible teddies and other such cute furry stuff.

I haven’t tried the book yet, but it seems nicely designed. It starts with a super-basic bear that’s just two bear shapes sewed together and stuffed. I don’t feel like I need a book to teach me how to make that bear. But then the book gets more complicated and dimensional and starts adding things like moving joints. So I think I’ll try out a pattern or two, then see if I can start to branch out into my own individual style if I find that I actually do like making teddies like I think I will.

The book is called The Teddy Bear Making Book by Brian and Donna Gibbs. “Step-by-step instructions for lots of terrific teds,” proclaims the cover.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

