Green Sweaters

March 4, 2009 at 12:01 pm | Posted in gifts, projects | 2 Comments

When I asked my dad what he wanted for his upcoming birthday, he said, “some green grass to mow.”  I guess he is pretty sick of shoveling snow, and ready for the lawnmower.  Plus, he finds mowing the lawn relaxing and he has a really nifty electric lawnmower to do it with.

Anyway, at first I didn’t really take that response seriously because I knew he just said it to be silly.  But then I had a great idea!  I am going to make him a bright green afghan to represent a green lawn.

So I bought a bunch of green sweaters at the thrift store and I’ve started the task of unraveling them.  I’ve been doing it quite addictively because I’m pretty inspired about the project.  It’s unlikely that my dad would ever read this, so I feel ok posting about it.

I also took a picture of one of the sweaters because S and I were talking about how extraordinarily ugly and strangely-shaped it was, and wondering where it had been for all those years since the eighties when it would have been stylish, before it finally made it onto a rack at the salvation army store.  Unfortunately it’s a really poor picture because I didn’t have enough light, and now I can’t take another picture because I’ve already half-destroyed the sweater.  Oh well, here it is:

ugly sweater

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. shhhhhh I won’t tell that I know!

  2. I love taking old sweaters apart too. good luck to you!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

