Stuffing

March 28, 2009 at 11:29 pm | Posted in craft tools, learning, other people's awesome crafts | Leave a comment

Since I like to make stuffed critters and I also like to use recycled, upcycled, and eco-friendly materials, I’ve been looking for a way to make my stuffed creatures a little more eco-friendly.  I was feeling frustrated that I could make something awesome out of recycled yarn, but then I would still have to stuff it with polyfil.  Polyfil is nice and fluffy and works great for stuffing, but it certainly isn’t eco-friendly.

So I asked for some suggestions from the etsy forum community.  Here are some of the ideas:

Plastic bags, wool, cotton, bamboo, polyfil from recycled plastic, kapok, fabric scraps, beans or grains, wood shavings, yarn scraps, gravel.

I appreciated everyone’s input to the conversation, but I still walked away from it feeling a little confused!  I guess I was hoping for a perfect alternative, which I didn’t find.  Some of these materials can’t get wet.  Some are dusty.  Some are very expensive.  Some don’t hold their shape well and pack down over time.  Some are not child-friendly.

So now I am weighing my options and trying out some of these ideas.  I stuffed this little guy with yarn scraps, for instance:

eggwithlegs

But probably the best thing that came out of that conversation on etsy was that another seller offered to send me some scraps of fleece fabric that she’d collected that she didn’t know what to do with.  Wasn’t that nice of her?  And she was even a seller whose store I had already visited, so I went ahead and bought a cloth maxi pad from her, something I’ve been wanting to try, and then she put the fleece scraps in the package along with my purchase.  🙂  The package just came the other day, so now I can stuff my next creature with them.  Very exciting!

Here’s her store: Naturally Hip.

And one of her awesome products:

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

