I’ve been sewing! Whee!

September 25, 2009 at 12:19 am | Posted in projects, selling | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

The sewing machine sat in its box for too long.  So we got it out and put it on its little table.  And, oh, it feels good to be using it again.  How could I forget how much I enjoy sewing things?

Tonight I put a patch on a pair of S’s pants, and then I didn’t want to stop, so I made a little brown drawstring bag.  And then I made a bright red lavender sachet.

A few days ago I was making things out of old silk neckties.  I dismantled four of them and used the fabric with some other silks that I had and I made three flax eye pillows.  I was only going to make one, for a friend’s birthday, but then I made a couple more for me and S.  We already have a lot of eye pillows, but they often fall under the bed and it’s nice to have an extra one to grab when you need it.  Plus the two I made are a little bigger than the ones we already had.  I like the big ones because they block the light out better.

I also made a headscarf/tie/headband/thingy for my sister for her birthday out of two of the neckties.  I hope she likes it!  It matches the earrings that I’m also giving her.  🙂

Anyway, here’s my happy little sewing nook:

more crafties 028

And here’s a bracelet I knitted with some of the scraps of necktie silk:

more crafties 056

I listed that bracelet on etsy (click picture to go there) and now I’m working on another one with orange and green silk scraps.  I am thinking of incorporating wire into the second one somehow, but I haven’t quite figured out how to do it yet.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

