destruction guilt and creation pleasure

October 18, 2009 at 11:49 am | Posted in projects, yarn stash | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

I bought a red sweater at a thrift store yesterday, thinking that I was going to wear it, but I didn’t have time to try it on before the store closed.  And then when I tried it on at home, S laughed at me because it looked so silly.  The sleeves were strangely puffy, and the torso was way too short.  So now it’s in the unraveling pile, but I feel bad about that because it’s obvious that the sweater was handmade.  A handmade sweater is much harder to justify unraveling because you know there was an actual person behind its creation, not just a machine.  It’s a unique item that someone put loads and loads of time into.  Unfortunately, I don’t think there’s anyone who could wear this particular sweater without looking absurd.

Alas!  I will try to be respectful in my destruction and create something lovely with the yarn.

And here is something I mentioned a few posts ago, a silk necktie bracelet with wire and beads added to it:

(I photographed it on top of the red sweater!)

bracelet on red knitting

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

