hats for the homeless

December 16, 2009 at 11:27 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

I read a posting in Front Porch Forum just now about a collection of warm hats and gloves and socks for homeless people on December 21st, which is apparently National Homeless Persons’ Memorial Day, in honor of those who have died homeless.  An important cause!  I passed a guy sitting in a doorway today on Church Street, and I felt really bad that I didn’t have any spare change to give him.  It’s really cold out there tonight!  I hope everyone has found space in a shelter or somewhere else warm to sleep.  So, anyway, it inspired me to start knitting a wool hat to bring to the collection drive.  I’ve completed a couple of inches already.  Plenty of time before the 21st to finish it.  Maybe I’ll go buy some wool socks from the “sox market” too.  And Uncommon Grounds, where you’re supposed to bring donations, is also giving out free coffee, which is really nice of them.  And they have yummy coffee.  So, yeah.  It feels good to be inspired by this, and I hope that the hat I make will end up on someone’s head and that it will keep their ears warm.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] ebebee crafts blog… I read a posting in Front Porch Forum just now about a collection of warm hats and gloves […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

