folk art chicken

April 8, 2010 at 10:42 pm | Posted in gifts, other people's awesome crafts | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This is what I made my daddy for his birthday!  I mailed it off today, but I took a picture before I taped the box up, because I think he turned out rather cute.

The chicken is made from a wool thrift store sweater that was already sort of felted, and which I felted more in the laundry.  And the nest is made out of those “jersey loops” thingies that we used to make pot-holders out of as kids, and long chains of finger weaving.  My mom used to make us more of them from old tights.  I found a package of them at recycle north a while back, and now I finally found a fabulous use for them!  And I put chickpeas in the bottom of the chicken to add a little weight and to help him sit nicely, and it really amuses me that they are CHICKpeas.  So I had to share that with you.  Heehee.

Finally, the cute card with the chocolate chips came from etsy photographer Heather King.  I traded for it.  And it’s lovely, so you should check out her shop.

Love,

Me.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

