Something a little more cheerful

April 24, 2012 at 10:23 pm | Posted in sewing | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I posted a sad message earlier today, and I would like to add this little story to the blog to show that today wasn’t all sad.

So, I recently signed up for an Ugly Fabric Swap on the regretsy forums.  There are frequently fun swaps going on in the forums.  I don’t feel like I can afford to join all of them, but I couldn’t resist this one.  I sent my recipient some choice selections from my fabric collection, including some earthworm-patterned fabric and some ribbon with rather ugly panda bears.  And here’s what I got from the person who drew my name:

Hideous!

Then today, when I realized that I had been staring at the computer screen alllll day and getting worked up and depressed about the etsy fiasco, I decided that it would be an excellent idea to do something creative to distract myself.  So I made the ugly fabric into a skirt!  I have no idea what I am going to do with it, because I am not sure I’ll actually wear it, but it was fun to sit down at the sewing machine and make something.

Look, you can see my belly button and my stretch marks as I model it!  Also my beloved inherited sewing machine in the background.

And here is a shot of it hanging up because I was finding it difficult to take a picture of the entire thing while wearing it and balancing the camera on a book on the shelf on the other side of the room and setting the timer for 10 seconds.  In this picture you get the bonus of two kitties, plus a half-dead plant.  Poor plant, maybe it will revive when we move all of our houseplants outside for the warmer months.

Take a survey about the skirt!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

