recent sewing

February 6, 2013 at 9:08 pm | Posted in sewing | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

A napkin with knit-pattern fabric, posed with yummy apple butter that K gave us for Christmas.

A sailboat zipper pouch that I made to exactly fit a book.  I was worried that I mis-measured, but it fits like a glove!

A yummy lavender eye pillow in spoonflower’s lovely silk/cotton blend printed with flowers that S drew.

010003-001005

Spoonflower.  I am addicted.  And I am especially really happy with how the flower fabric turned out.  It was a lot of work to cut out flowers from S’s doodles and scan them all and then edit the files for a satisfactory finished arrangement.  But it was totally worth it!  Look how awesome!  And I think it’s quite lovely that S was willing to let me take scissors to some of her marker art so that this fabric could become a collaboration between the two of us.  I gave the eye pillow to her, of course.

If you’re ordering yourself something from spoonflower, that silk blend fabric is really nice to touch and has a glow-y sheen to it.  It’s a little sheer, so I backed it with a plain white cotton to make the pillow sturdier, but the texture is absolutely perfect for an eye pillow.  The purple knit is one of my designs, too, printed on basic cotton.  The sailboat fabric was a thrift shop treasure find.

Now I am working on a design with some spirals that S drew, trying to learn about pattern repeats in fabric design.  It’s challenging!  We shall see where I get to.  I’m not ready to order a sample yet.  Also, I cut up one of my marker drawings and have been playing with that in a pattern that I’m calling “caterpillars.”  So.  More to come…

Here are the links for the two fabrics pictured above: http://www.spoonflower.com/designs/1698219 and http://www.spoonflower.com/designs/1366626

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

