good luck at goodwill

May 16, 2013 at 12:32 am | Posted in yarn stash | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Today at Goodwill I found a giant bag of yarn for $4.99!

001

It looked like an afghan waiting to happen, all color coordinated and everything. I was sorting through it this evening with one of my cats on my lap, and I realized that the color scheme was almost the same as her coloring. She’s more orange + black + white, not yellow + black + white. But still, this looks like a calico-kitty collection of yarn.

Memphis the one-eyed wondercat:

001

(That’s the only picture I have of her on this computer–I wanted to post a picture of her face, but I am too lazy to get up and take one right now)

Anyway, I sorted through the bag of yarn. It is mostly worsted weight. There were a few sport weight skeins that I separated out, plus one skein of weird chenille stuff, plus one ball of thicker sort of rough yarn, almost like twine. Not sure what I am going to do with that, but I decided to keep it. I also kept one skein of black sport weight. The rest of the sport weight and the weird chenille went into my tote bag that I always bring to work. I have a few co-workers who are knitters and crocheters, so I will offer it to them and if no one at work wants it, I’ll just re-donate it to Goodwill.

After sorting, I was left with still a rather large amount of worsted weight acrylic yarns in gold, black, white, and cream. Like I said, it’s just begging to be made into an afghan. Plus I have this nifty wooden crochet hook that my mom de-stashed to me that I’ve been wanting to use just because it’s wood and is very pleasing to hold. I know that I am already in the middle of many other projects. I have three unfinished afghans already. But I couldn’t help myself and I started crocheting. Do you think I have craft ADD maybe?

I will finish most of my projects that I start. Eventually.

And here is a picture of one of the skeins of yarn that had a silly little rhyme on its label. I have never encountered poetic yarn before!

003

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

