taking pride in finished projects

September 17, 2013 at 1:25 am | Posted in gifts, projects | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Not proud of how long it took me to get around to posting pictures, but hey. This is still awesome and I felt very accomplished when I finished it. And it is actually the first sweater that I have ever knitted! I’ve crocheted a sweater before, but never knitted one! So, here it is, the adorable creation I made for Lewis’s first birthday:

20130818_093031 20130818_093047

This is the pattern I used: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bear-tracks / http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/pattern-correction-baby-bear-hoodie

I didn’t do the pockets from the pattern because I think they make it a little too busy. It’s cute enough with just the ears, and I felt like the pockets would detract from the overall look. Besides that, I followed the pattern and I am quite happy with the finished product. The buttons are wood.

When my aunt saw this, she asked me if I could make one in an adult size exactly like it! I said yes, but I’ll have to find a pattern. I have confidence in my knitting, but not enough in my design skills to take a baby-sized pattern and modify it for a grown-up. But I’m sure I can find a similar hooded cardigan and add ears to it.

Also, here’s another recently finished project, the latest scrapghan. I’ve lost track of what number this is.

20130902_153443

Cheddar of course had to help me take a picture of it. And he is sitting on my lap while I’m wrapped in the blanket right now! It’s a nice thick one because I used three strands of scrap yarn. I like using three strands because the color effect is a little more subtle and blended than it would be with just two strands. Of course, three strands also takes more yarn to get to a finished blanket, but my coworker Sara has started gifting me her scraps from her crochet projects, so at least I have a new source to feed my scrap yarn addiction!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am IN LOVE with your scrap blankets!! Is there any way you could post a pattern for them? Or any kind of instructions? I would absolutely die if I could make something so cool.

    • Well, there isn’t really a pattern, it’s more of an organic process, but I could certainly write up a sort of recipe. I’m about due for a new entry to the blog anyway and I wasn’t sure what to write about, so thanks for the suggestion!

    • Ok! Here’s my finished write-up. I hope it is helpful! I would love to see pictures if you do end up making one.

      • Yay yay yay!!! Thank you so much! I will definitely post a picture of my finished product 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

