Mommies and Mittens

November 22, 2013 at 6:22 pm | Posted in other people's awesome crafts | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I stole this picture of my nephew from my sister’s blog because it is wicked cute, and also because of what he’s wearing! Exhibit A: the sweater I knitted for his birthday. Exhibit B: some mittens that my mom made him. Grandmas make the best mittens, clearly.

So cute!!!!

My mom is an expert knitter of mittens. When I was younger, she used to be crocheting constantly because she had a small business selling baby booties and fluffy sheep ornaments. Nowadays, she has transitioned to knitting mittens all the time. She has the pattern memorized and can make them in any size! Everyone in the family has some, but most of them are donated through the local family center and through the annual coat drive at her church. It makes me happy to think of all those mittens out in the world keeping people’s hands warm. Also, she saves all her scrap yarn for me, and you know how much I love scrap yarn!

Last time I was home, I took a picture of a pair of mittens that she had just finished. Then I found out that spoonflower had a mitten theme for one of their weekly design contests. So I used the photo to make a fabric design! I wish that I had better graphic art skills, and access to photoshop, but I’m happy with how it turned out anyway. Here it is: http://www.spoonflower.com/fabric/2578956

And here is the spoonflower contests page so you can see all the other awesome designs, and vote if you want to! http://www.spoonflower.com/contests/222

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

